Nuclear Abominations
Brutal Deathgore publication since 1995 | 1013707 stabs in the skull.


Send promo stuff and hate mail to: Michele Toscan / via Repubblica dell'Ossola, 18 / 41100 Modena (MO) / Italy
E-mail: info AT nuclearabominations DOTH com

VITAL REMAINS (USA/Ri): "Dawn of the Apocalypse" Cd 2000 Osmose

Review by: Necrogoregrinder | 01/01/2000


Cover Art

Running Time: 58:39

Snail Mail


[Features under construction]

Other releases from this label

Other releases from this band

According to the booklet the CD was recorded some 1968 years ago, which means the band must have been the real founders of the genre, definitely beyond their time eheh, fuck VENOM... anyway this album is not the easiest to read, VITAL REMAINS approach to Satanism has always been somewhat a bit more articulated and this album dedicated to Anton Szandor laVey, has not precise quotes by the likes of Goethe, Goebbels, Freud... and the lyrics are thereafter inspired by such enlightening tetxtx. Aye, lyrically (and musically aehm) they're not the grandur of ANGELCORPSE, but they do it well, straight to the point and brutal in their approach. The cover artwork is magnificent, really gives the idea of an apocalypse, and the whole interior art is ripe with Death and Diabolical themes... musically, they're impeccable, as always. Blasting drums, contorted solos, a perfectly balanced sound for an absolutely classical blend of Death Metal, the purest form of it. Grunting vocals, good guitar riffs (note that the drummer is the one who also write the solos...), this is top notch Death Metal, with no particularities of sort, it's just plain good and sincere, no Egyptian interludes, no experimaental tracks, just Death Metal with a diabolical, dark soul... there is actually a flamenco-ed guitar in the third track, when the music gets darker and moodier... a kind of experimentation which in VITAL REMAINS always reached, in my humble opinion, their highest results... and a 1 minute long instrumental track in the vein of MORBID ANGEL's Blessed are the Sick, but it's just a short interlude... A good release.


Tracks (9): 1 - Intro 2 - Black Magic Curse 3 - Dawn of the Apocalypse 4 - Sanctity in Blasphemous Ruin 5 - Came No Ray of Light 6 - Flag of Victory 7 - Behold the Throne of Chaos 8 - The Night Has a Thousand Eyes 9 - Societe Des Luciferiens